16 July 2019London Jazz News feature

There's a lovely question and answer feature up on London Jazz News on my new album and the similarities between traditional music and jazz!

15 July 2019iTunes, Google, Spotify, Amazon release today!

Karen's new album The Road to Kennacraig is officially released today 15 July and is now available on for downloads/streaming on  iTunes, Spotify, Google, and Amazon. 

07 July 2019First album review up

The first review of Karen's new CD is now up online. David Harley notes on his own site that it's "Scottish harp music much influenced by pibroch. I really like it." The review is published by

"Perhaps it’s because of the Marmite sound of the Scottish pipes, but I think we sometimes underestimate the art of pibroch. Certainly my ears have been opened by this CD to a whole new appreciation of the genre, as well as to the instrumental artistry and compositional prowess of Karen herself.  I hope to hear a great deal more of her in the future: in the meantime, I suspect I’ll be listening to this CD quite a lot."

You can read the full review here.

04 July 2019New FB music page

Karen now has a dedicated Facebook music page if you'd like to keep in touch with all her activites you  can like the page here   It;s a good way to keep in touch with gig listings, posts, pics and even some videos etc!

27 June 2019Birnam Arts Centre 8 November

New date just added - Karen will play a solo gig with all 3 harps at Birnam Arts Centre on Friday 8 November.

24 June 2019Fife country house hosts music events

Article by Rob Adams on the series of events at Hill of Tarvit Mansion including the solo harp concert by Karen on Friday 23 August.

23 June 2019 New date in Biggar 13 September

Karen will be giving a solo harp concert for Biggar Music Club on 13 September - more details soon!

14 June 2019Solo harp gigs 23, 25 August

Karen will be playing some solo harp gigs in late August

Hill of Tarvit Mansion (NTS property) Friday August 23rd 7.30 tickets £15 here

Eyemouth Hippodrome - Sunday 25 August - afternoon concert more details tbc!


She will also be doing a solo concert on Saturday 21 September - Cappucino Concert, Wighton Centre, Dundee Central Library 11-12noon £5 info here


Check back later for more details!

06 June 2019Guesting with Russian String Orchestra 4, 11, 18 August

Karen will be guesting with the Russian String Orchestra at the Fringe this year! More info here

Tickets are available to book here £14.50 / £12  Sundays 4, 11, 18 August 1445 theSpace@Surgeons Hall (1 hour 10 minutes)

29 May 2019CD Pre-orders now online

Karen's new solo album The Road to Kennacraig is now available to buy here as a preorder ahead of the official release date of 15 July (when it will become avaiable on iTunes, Spotify etc). These CDs will ship from 25 May and cost £10 plus p+p (£2 to UK, £3 overseas).

30 April 2019Solo gig Linlithgow 24 May

Karen will be doing a solo gig with all three Scottish harps - gut and wire -strung clarsachs and buzzing brays in Linlithgow on Friday 24 May at Red Door - St Peter's Church on the High Street.

Our red doors open at 7.30pm, event commences 8pm. Tickets £12/8 available from "Far From the Madding Crowd", 20 High Street, Linlithgow or call 07849 509407.

18 April 2019Cathal McConnell Trio at Portobello 27 April!

The Cathal McConnell Trio will be playing a family friendly early evening gig at Bellfield in Portobello on Saturday 27 April in association with FluteFling weekend. Tickets are £10/12 and under 10s go free with an adult. The venue is wheelchair accessible.

24 January 2019Elphinstone Institute Aberdeen 16/17 Feb

Karen will be giving a solo concert in the Elphinstone Institute Aberdeen (Macrobert Building room 055) 7pm £10, and a  workshop on the Sunday 10-4. Tickets and info on both from the North East Scotland Branch of the Clarsach Society

View All Stories

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy